INSIGHT : Jeans for the over 55s – One woman’s opinion

The quote below was originally going to be posted on the dailymail.co.uk website in response to the feature : 

How to be a jean-ius: We challenge three women to find the perfect pair of jeans on the High Street

….but I persuaded the writer (female, 60+, young at heart, interested in fashion) to let me use it on my blog instead!

“I feel sure that women of a certain age or shape are desperate to find jeans that suit them. Many of us after 55 have a few bulges and none of us want that fat hanging over the drop waist of our jeans. Worse is when we bend down, the back goes even lower exposing parts we hope won’t  be seen! I recently spent a desperate day trying on jeans in half a dozen Brand shops.  I am a 12 – 14 depending on the make, and again what has happened to sizing?  Some of the jeans were so tight on the leg that I couldn’t get them past my knees but the upper part would have easily fit. The only ones I finally found were at M&S.  ‘Per Una’ – good fabric and they just sit on the waist with a choice of shapes, they were by far the best for me. The slight element of stretch fabric within is ideal. The £12 pairs at M&S seem a good shape too and if one doesn’t have a midriff to show off it surely it doesn’t matter about the ‘Sits on the Waist’. Mine will be certainly be covered! I wonder how many of you have encountered the same problem.”

Leave a Reply

